Receipts Tracker

Background

Receipts Tracker allows customers to record and manage receipts for their expenses.

Receipts details can be recorded under four different categories of expenses:

  • Health
  • Trade
  • Rental
  • Other.

Images of receipts can also be uploaded and saved to Revenue storage. If the image of the receipt is clear, readable and complete, customers do not need to keep the original receipt.

Access to Receipts Tracker

This service is available in myAccount and ROS. It is also accessible in Revenue’s mobile application RevApp. If you use both the RevApp version and web version of Receipts Tracker, your details will not be in sync unless you choose to save to Revenue storage. See below for further details.

Agents

Agents cannot access the Receipts Tracker. However, customers can download their receipts details and/or images and send them to their agent.

Back to Top

Web Version of Receipts Tracker

When you use the web version of Receipts Tracker, your receipts details and images will automatically be saved to Revenue storage. This means that you do not have to keep the original receipt once you are satisfied that the image is clear, readable and complete. It also means that Revenue can check your receipts without contacting you directly if we need to verify any of your claims or returns.

RevApp version of Receipts Tracker

If you are using Receipts Tracker in RevApp, you can choose whether or not you want to save your receipts details and images to Revenue storage.

If you choose to save your receipts details and images to Revenue storage:

  • You do not have to keep the original receipt. However, you must be satisfied that the image is clear, readable and complete;
  • We can check you receipts without contacting you directly if we need to verify any of your claims or returns (we may still need to contact you however);
  • Your receipts details will appear on your Form 11 or Form 12 to help you when you are completing your income tax return;
  • Your Receipts Tracker in RevApp and the web version of Receipts Tracker will be in sync. This means that, if you lose your mobile device, you will still have access to your receipts details and images in the web version.

Back to Top

You can change your preference at any time by clicking on ‘Do not save anymore’ on the Receipts Tracker home page in RevApp. Any receipts details and images already saved to Revenue storage will remain saved to Revenue storage. Once you have changed your preference, to delete receipts details and images previously saved to Revenue storage, you must also delete them from the web version of Receipts Tracker. You should get a replacement of the original receipt before you delete your receipts. Future receipts details entered in the RevApp version of Receipts Tracker will not be available to view in the web version.

If you choose not to upload your receipts details and images to Revenue storage:

  • You must keep your original receipts for six years. You may be contacted by Revenue to provide your receipts if your claim or return is selected for a compliance check.
  • Any details or receipts entered in Receipts Tracker on your mobile device will not be available in the web version and vice versa i.e. they will not be in sync. This means that we will not be able to provide customers with details of their expenses on their Form 11 or Form12.
  • If you lose or change your mobile device, you will lose all the details and images you have entered.

You can change your preference at any time by clicking on ‘Save now’ on the Receipts Tracker home page in RevApp. By clicking on ‘Save now’, receipts details and images already entered in the RevApp version of Receipts Tracker will all be uploaded to Revenue storage. If you are uploading a large volume of receipts, you may want to connect to WiFi.

Any information you provide to Revenue in the course of your business with us is not shared with third parties unless allowed or required by law.

Back to Top


Print this page