## **Guide to Single European Payments Area (SEPA)**

The Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA) is a mechanism that facilitates the standardisation of electronic payments denominated in euro across Europe. Under SEPA, all bank accounts must be identified by an International Bank Account Number (IBAN) and a Bank Identifier Code (BIC).

To make a payment, the International Bank Account Number (IBAN) must be used. The Bank Identifier Code (BIC) is optional.

There are 36 countries in the SEPA area. These are the existing 27 member states of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, and Sweden. Finally Andorra, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland, United Kingdom and the Vatican City also are participants.

Customers can make payments to Revenue using a current bank account, denominated in Euro, located in any of the 36 participating countries. Where customers have any concerns, they should confirm with their bank that the bank account they wish to use is SEPA reachable.

The information in this document is provided as a guide only and is not professional advice, including legal advice. It should not be assumed that the guidance is comprehensive or that it provides a definitive answer in every case.

