## **EU States and Codes**

Document last updated 20 April 2020.

Austria	AT
Belgium	BE
Bulgaria	BG
Croatia	HR
Cyprus	СУ
The Czech Republic	CZ
Denmark	DK
Estonia	EE
Finland	FI
France	FR
Germany	DE
Greece	EL
Hungary	ни
Ireland	IE
Italy	IT
Latvia	LV
Lithuania	LT
Luxembourg	LU
Malta	MT
The Netherlands	NL
Poland	PL
Portugal	PT
Romania	RO
Slovakia	SK
Slovenia	SI
Spain	ES
Sweden	SE
United Kingdom*	UK

<sup>\*</sup>For VAT purposes, the UK will be treated as a full member of the European Union until the end of the Brexit transition period, currently scheduled to end on 1 January 2021.



The information in this document is provided as a guide only and is not professional advice, including legal advice. It should not be assumed that the guidance is comprehensive or that it provides a definitive answer in every case.

## **Territories excluded:**

- That part of Cyprus over which the Government of the Republic of Cyprus does not exercise effective control
- The Faroe Islands and Greenland Åland Island
- The Island of Heligoland and the Territory of Büsingen
- Mount Athos
- Livigno, Campione d'Italia, and the Italian Waters of Lake Lugano
- Ceuta, Melilla and the Canary Islands
- Gibraltar
- N.B. The Channel Islands and the territory of the Republic of San Marino (which form part of the EU customs territory, but do not form part of the territory of any of the individual Member States) and Andorra are excluded from the territory of the EU for the purposes of VAT.

## **Territories treated as included:**

- United Kingdom Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri & Dhekelia
- Principality of Monaco
- Isle of Man