Financial institutions

Deposit Interest Retention Tax (DIRT)

Deposit takers must deduct the tax on interest paid, this tax is commonly referred to as DIRT.

A deposit taker is:

  • a licensed bank of any of the European Union (EU) Member States
  • a building society of any of the EU Member States
  • a trustee savings bank
  • a credit union
  • or
  • the Post Office Savings Bank.


Financial institutions are required to report to Revenue certain information each year in accordance with: