Role of Revenue


The Office of the Revenue Commissioners was established by Government Order in 1923. The Order provided for a Board of Commissioners.

The Board comprises three Commissioners, one of whom is appointed Chairman, and all carry the rank of Secretary General. The Chairman of the Board is also the Accounting Officer for Revenue.

The Mission Statement of Revenue is:

'To serve the community by fairly and efficiently collecting taxes and duties and implementing Customs controls.'

Revenue currently employs approximately 6,600 staff (full time equivalents). Staff are located in some 70 Revenue offices distributed throughout the country.

Next: Core business